Ostertag Among 60,000 Canadian Recipients of Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal

Created in 2012 to mark the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the Throne as Queen of Canada, the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal was a tangible way for Canada to honor Her Majesty for her service to this country.

At the same time, this commemorative medal served to honor significant contributions and achievements by Canadians. During the year of celebrations, 60 000 deserving Canadians were recognized.

Heather Ostertag, CM was among the recipients who was presented with her medal at a special event on June 18, 2012 at Roy Thomson Hall where distinguished presenters of the Medal included:  The Honourable Henry Jackman, Susan Aglukark, George Chuvalo, Shirley Douglas, Norman Jewison, Molly Johnson, Lloyd Roberston, Gordon Pinsent and Peter Mansbridge.  While a presenter, Peter Mansbridge, was also the Master of Ceremonies for the evening and the presenter to Heather.  “I am a proud Canadian and truly humbled to be included with such an incredible group of Canadians.  We should be proud of our country and all that we have accomplished”  commented Heather upon receiving her medal.

Performances by Molly Johnson, Craig and Marc Kielburger, Ben Heppner, Stuart McLean and Gordon Lightfoot were enjoyed by all in attendance.